Branch County Candidates For August 6 Primary
By: Beth Swary - Friday, April 26, 2024

Contributed by Branch County

BRANCH COUNTY - The Michigan Primary election on August 6 will have multiple Branch County Republican candidates for Branch County Commissioner and Branch County Sheriff.

The are currently five republican candidates for commissioner and three candidates for sheriff.

There were not any democratic candidates filed before before the April 24 deadline.

Tim Stoll is the only unopposed County Commissioner and is seeking reelection for Branch County District Three Commissioner.

The District Four seat that is being given up by Tom Matthew is being sought by Richard Swanson, Rick Hollister and Brett Burtrum.

Karen McGraw withdrew her candidacy in District Four on Tuesday.

Matthew is running for the 35th District State House seat currently occupied by Andrew Fink.

Fifth District County Commissioner Alan McClellan is being challenged by David Mansfield.

District One Commissioner Randall Hazelbaker is being challenged by Jessica Green.

District Two Commissioner Jon Houtz is being challenged by John Towers.

The three candidates for Branch County Sheriff for the August Primary are Michael Thyng, Robin Swartz and Fred Blankenship.

County Clerk Terry Kubasiak, Prosecutor Zach Stempien, Drain Commissioner Mike Hard, Surveyor Ed Reed, Register of Deeds Nikki DeLoach and Treasurer Steven Rutz are all running unopposed.

More information on voting in Branch County can be found HERE


>> News Archive