2022 Steuben County Primary Election Results
Tuesday, May 3, 2022

Today’s primary election was the first time Steuben County has voted under its new status. No matter where you live in Steuben County, today you could cast your ballot at the polling place of your choice.

Primary election voters essentially picked candidates for the Republican and Democratic parties, with winners of those races advancing to the fall general election on November 8th.

Today’s primary in Steuben County had several contested races.

There were two men running for the Democratic nomination for the 51st District seat in the Indiana House of Representatives, which is currently held by Representative Denny Zent, R-Angola, who was first elected in 2012.

Hoping for the opportunity to run against Zent in the fall were Jestin Coler, Lake Gage, and Michael (Mike) Travis, Angola. Mike Travis was the winner among Steuben County voters 270 to 161 over Coler (not including LaGrange County numbers).

In the Steuben County Commissioner race for Steuben County, the North District, which covers Millgrove, Jamestown, Fremont and Clear Lake townships was up for grabs. On the Republican ticket, Andy Laughlin, Lake Pleasant, took on the veteran politician Jim Getz, Lake George, who is gave up his District 1 county council seat to run. Andy Laughlin beat Jim Getts with 60% of the vote.

For Steuben County Council District 1 in the northern tier of townships, there were four Republicans and two Democrats running for their party’s nominations in the May 3 Primary.

Landon Brown, Lake Pleasant, Angela Campbell, Lake Pleasant, Christina Cress, Fremont, and Brian Welch, Fremont, ran for the Republican nomination. Christina Cress wins the Republican nomination with 677 votes, which was 56% of the vote.

Harle L. Vogel, Jimmerson Lake, and Judy Rowe, Lake Pleasant, ran for the Democratic nomination, with Judy Rowe winning. Rowe is the Steuben County Democratic Party chair.

In Steuben County District 4 incumbent Republican Tony Isa was challenged by Frank Charlton, who retired as county department head from building and planning then parks. Isa, who was caucused into his seat in December 2020 (after Wil Howard resigned following his election to the Steuben County Board of Commissioners, South District) won the Republican nomination with 70% of the vote.

Elsewhere, in the race for the Steuben County auditor’s seat, found two members of the auditor’s staff, Kelli Wilder-Johnson, chief deputy and administrative assistant to the commissioners, running against Brittany K. (Maxton) Bacon, payroll clerk, on the Republican ticket. The seat is open this election because Auditor Kim Meyers can’t run again due to state term limits. Kelli Wilder-Johnson won the Republican nomination for County Auditor over Bacon with 60% of the vote.


>> News Archive