Wear a Mask in Michigan or Face a $500 Fine
By Sheila McCrea
LANSING, MI - Failure to wear a mask in Michigan could result in a hefty fine for violators.
On Friday, Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer signed an executive order that makes masks mandatory for most people in indoor public spaces and crowded outdoor spaces.
Governor Whitmer said a willful violation of the order is a misdemeanor subject to a $500 criminal penalty. The move requires businesses to refuse entry to people who do not wear masks, with limited exceptions.
Exemptions to the mask order include kids younger than 5-year-old, those who have a medical condition that bars them from wearing a mask, and people who are eating or drinking while seated in a restaurant.
Governors in the states of Kansas, Maine, Nevada, Pennsylvania, and Washington have imposed similar requirements on businesses.
(08-10-2020) Trine Welcomes Increased Record Numbers as Classes Start
(08-10-2020) Lake James Boat Parade for Trump
(08-10-2020) Authorities Suspect Alcohol in Single Jeep Crash
(08-08-2020) Electrical Fire Contained at Chubby’s in Orland
(08-07-2020) Auburn Police Pursuit Thursday
(08-07-2020) Cruise to the Monument Canceled for September
(08-06-2020) Auburn Police make Drug Bust
(08-06-2020) Monument Soldiers Will Disappear for Repair
(08-06-2020) Another Auburn Event Postponed and Altered
(08-06-2020) Bryan Ohio Man Injured in Crash
(08-06-2020) Golf Outing Raises Nearly $82,000
(08-05-2020) Greuter Joins Angola Fire Department
(08-05-2020) Steuben County Highway Department Begins Work on 500 South
(08-05-2020) No New COVID-19 Cases in Steuben County
(08-04-2020) Indiana Governor Announces Plan for More School Bus Safety
(08-04-2020) Plane Crashes in Northwest Ohio
(08-04-2020) Dekalb County Man Busted for Meth