Tobacco stores across Indiana could face tougher penalties for selling tobacco products to anyone under 21 under a bill endorsed by the Indiana House.
The additional penalties are part of a bill increasing Indiana’s minimum age for smoking and vaping from 18 to 21 to conform with a new federal law.
The new proposal would boost the fine against a retailer for a first violation from a $200 maximum, to a minimum of $500 with a third violation within three years carrying a minimum $1,000 fine and a three-year loss of the store’s tobacco sales certificate.
House members voted 84-14 for the bill earlier this week while the Senate is considering its own bill.
(04-03-2020) Indiana Stay-At-Home Order Extended
(04-03-2020) Steuben County Commissioners Make Public Announcement
(04-03-2020) Steuben County Reports Two More New COVID-19 Cases
(04-03-2020) Ohio’s Coronavirus Cases Getting Close to 3K
(04-03-2020) Ohio’s Stay At Home Extended
(04-03-2020) Thursday Afternoon Motorcycle Crash In DeKalb County
(04-02-2020) Indiana Health Commissioner Addresses P95 Mask Shortage
(04-02-2020) Williams County Reports First Case of COVID-19
(04-02-2020) Northwest State Staff Are Making Medical Shields
(04-02-2020) Bryan City Schools Resumed On-Site Lunch Pick-up
(04-02-2020) Coronavirus Testing Increasing In Indiana
(04-02-2020) Angola Fire Department Closed to Public Visits
(04-01-2020) Ohio’s Confirmed COVID-19 Cases Tops Off Over 2K
(04-01-2020) Missing Northwest Ohio Teen and Infant Son Found Safe
(03-31-2020) Two Cameron Staff Members Test Positive for COVID-19